Specifying File Deletion Options

EFT's ASM provides a data sanitization/data wiping option. If you do not activate the ASM, this feature is disabled after the 30-day trial expires.

You can configure EFT to securely delete or purge a file by writing over the initial data using encrypted and/or pseudorandom data. A menu of purging methods is available; available options depend on the library used.

*.pgp files are automatically excluded from the wipe process. When wipe is enabled, ANY delete operation also includes the wipe (sanitization) process.

To specify a delete method

  1. In the administration interface, connect to EFT and click the Server tab.

  2. On the Server tab, click the Site that you want to configure.

  3. In the right pane, click the Security tab.

  4. In the Data Security area, next to Secure data removal, click Configure. The Data Sanitation dialog box appears.

  5. In the Delete method box, click the list to specify one of the following methods:

  6. Click OK to close the dialog box.

  7. Click Apply to save the changes on EFT.

  8. A message appears when the purging mechanism is changed to anything other than the Windows standard delete method.

For further reference regarding data wiping, see the following articles:

(These links are outside of Globalscape's domain and could change.)