Adding or Removing Users to or from a Group

When you create a user in the Create New User wizard, you are asked to add the user to a Group. You can later add/remove users to/from Groups on the Group Membership tab or the user's Security tab. You can add any user to any Group on the same Site. You cannot add users from one Site to a Group on another Site.

If a user does not have individual permissions for a folder and is a member of more than one Group, EFT gives the user the least-restrictive access for the folder. You can individually modify user permissions and those modified permissions will outweigh all Group permissions. For example, if a user is a member of three Groups that all have upload permissions to a particular folder, but you have denied that specific user permission to upload to the folder, then the user cannot upload to the folder.

To move users into or out of a group

  1. In the administration interface, connect to EFT and click the Server tab.

  2. In the Site tree, expand the Groups node, and then click the Group you want to configure.

  3. In the right pane, in the Group Membership tab, double-click the user or use the arrows to move the user into or out of the Group. (You can multi-select using SHIFT and CTRL.)

  4. Click Apply to save the changes on EFT.

Related Topics